The 2014 Critical Mass Top 50!

Image: Heather Evans Smith

It’s official! The Top 50 photographers for Critical Mass 2014 have been chosen. Our 200-strong jurying team completed their voting yesterday and the results have been tallied. Thank you to all participating photographers and all our wonderful, insightful jurors. There were so many creative, inventive, powerful portfolios in the mix this year – Critical Mass participants are a talented bunch!

Stay tuned – the Critical Mass awards will be announced next. Selected photographers will be awarded a solo exhibition at Blue Sky Gallery, an artist’s residency at the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation’s Captiva Island Estate, and our coveted Monograph Award. The Top 50 photographers will also be included in a group exhibition at the next GuatePhoto festival, curated by Center for Creative Photography Curator Rebecca Senf. They will also be added to the annual archive on our website – a fantastic resource for curators, publishers, and new media producers across the globe. Top 50 photographers will also be included in Photo Eye’s Art Photo Index.

To see portfolios by all the Top 50 artists, click here.

Congratulations, Top 50!

2014 Critical Mass Top 50

David Emitt Adams

Matthew Arnold

Jessica Auer

Angela Bacon-Kidwell

Mandy Barker

Nadine Boughton

Ben Brody

Antoine Bruy

Patty Carroll

Calvin Chen

Daniel Coburn

Sian Davey

Frances F. Denny

K.K. DePaul

Heather Evans Smith

Amy Friend

Susan Grant

Kevin Horan

Sandra Hoyn

Priya Kambli

Corinna Kern

Bear Kirkpatrick

Heidi Kirkpatrick

Meeri Koutaniemi

Álvaro Laiz

Nate Larson & Marni Shindelman

Jennifer Little

Gloriann Liu

Cynthia Matty-Huber

Kendall McMinimy

Diane Meyer

Jeanine Michna-Bales

Nancy Newberry

Walker Pickering

Victoria Piersig

Marja Pirilä

Jessica Eve Rattner

Christopher Rauschenberg

Meghann Riepenhoff

Ken Rosenthal

Mateusz Sarello

Alix Smith

Aline Smithson

Tamara Staples

Laura Stevens

S. Gayle Stevens

Ayumi Tanaka

Iveta Vaivode

Donna J. Wan
Xiaoxiao Xu