Critical Mass 2018 Wrap-Up!


Noah Addis – from his series “Future Cities”

It’s January and we are busy gearing up for Photolucida (April 24-28) here in Portland (Reviews! Photobook Fair! Portfolio Walk! Lunchtime Chats! Parties!), but before completely saying good-bye to 2018, we wanted to remark on some highlights from Critical Mass 2018. 

First – big congratulations to the Critical Mass Residency Award winners Laura Stevens (recipient of the CAMPO Residency Award) and also to Stephan Hillerbrand + Mary Magsamen (the Rauschenberg Residency Award recipients). The Blue Sky Solo Show Award recipient is Noah Addis – his series Future Cities will be on exhibit at Blue Sky during Portland Photo Month.

Thank you so much to Alejandro Cartagena, Celine Clanet, and Tamara Staples for working with us to produce prints for our Critical Mass 2018 Print Collecting Initiative – we have been hearing nice things back from jurors and finalists who were happy to receive them. (And a sincere “thank you” to Hahnemühle for providing the paper to make them extra-gorgeous!)

These are the faculty-nominated MFA students that were awarded scholarships to Critical Mass this year: Marcella Flury, Kaleigh Rusgrove, Mika Sperling and Martin Wannam. And – we were pleased to offer merit-based “golden tickets” to Photolucida’s Reviews event to Critical Mass participantsCable Hoover, Adrienne Hughes, Maya Meissner, and Ekaterina Solovivea.

Keep an eye on the success stories page to track opportunities that happened for photographers as a result of participating in Critical Mass 2018! We are curious, too!