2023 Critical Mass Awards!

Congratulations to all the 2023 Critical Mass Awards Winners!

Critical Mass 2023 Top 50 exhibit will be held at Colorado Photographic Arts Center’s new gallery space in Denver from February 23 – April 13, 2024.

Solo Show Awards for CM23

SE Center for Photography Solo Show Award was awarded to Grace Weston. The exhibit is in Greenville, SC, from June 7 – July 27, 2024.

Blue Sky Gallery Solo Show Award was awarded to André Ramos-Woodard. The exhibit is in Portland, OR, from April 4 – 28, 2024.

The Light Factory Solo Show Award was awarded to Rashod Taylor. The exhibit is in Charlotte, NC, and will open May 31, 2024.

Michael Reichmann Project Development Grants

Three finalists were awarded $1000 cash to support the development of a current or future project. 2023 Grant Recipients: Roshni Khatri, Rashod Taylor, and Andrés Mario de Varona.

Print Collecting Initiative Award – each of the 200 Finalists will receive a special edition signed + numbered print by CM22 finalist Cody Cobb. The print, CC2780 is part of his series SPECTRAL. Pro Photo Supply and Hahnemühle generously sponsor this award.

Maine Media Scholarship – A scholarship valued at $1,600 was awarded to Ruddy Roye for a Maine Media workshop.

The SPAO Residency Prize will be awarded to one candidate selected from the TOP 50 Critical Mass award winners. All top 50 award winners will be allowed to apply for consideration. SPAO’s Creative Director will choose one winner to receive the SPAO Residency Bursary Prize (valued at $4500 US). The 6-month SPAO International Artist Residency provides mentorship, support, and a paid exhibition opportunity for professional photo-based artists.

Archive 192 Cash Award Prize was awarded to Elizabeth Stone.

Shutter Hub Awards:

Exhibit at Cambridge includes CM23 Finalists: Tracy Barbutes, Loren Nelson, Ann Prochilo, Christopher Valentine, Julya Hajnoczky

Features: Shao-Feng Hsu, Ann Prochilo, Jaume Llorens I Bach, Kevin Moore.


Projections Webinar presentations with Critical Mass Finalists Daniel Sachkeim, Sarah Hoskins, Ruddy Roye.

Analog Forever Feature Award – Lynne Breitfeller.

Merit-based Scholarships – selected photographers will have the entry fees to Critical Mass waived. Photolucida is pleased to offer 2023 scholarships to Ana Vallejo, German Vazquez, Mateo Ruiz Gonzalez, Roshni Khatri, Thalia Juarez, Yekaterina Gyadu, and Ukrainian artist Irina Shkoda.