Announcing Critical Mass 2023 Top 50!

© Argus Paul Estabrook, CM23 Top 50

We’re so excited to announce the Critical Mass 2023 Top 50, but first, we’d like to thank everyone who submitted their work. It can be daunting to enter your work in a highly competitive program like Critical Mass. Thank you for having the courage to do so!

We’d also like to thank the diligence and skill of the CM23 juror panel. We are impressed with your discerning vision, graciousness, and tenacity to comb through portfolios, considering them from all angles! A big shout-out to all our partners and sponsors this year – we’re thrilled to have you with us on this journey!

Personally, I’d like to thank all of you for making my first year as Photolucida’s Program Director unforgettable. I’m genuinely honored to be part of this tradition.

The Top 50 spots this year are filled by artists from 10 countries! 

Congratulations to:

  • Adair Freeman Rutledge
  • Aimee McCrory
  • Allison Hunter
  • Andre Ramos-Woodard
  • Ann Prochilo
  • Argus Paul Estabrook
  • Bob Newman
  • Cathy Cone
  • Claudia Ruiz Gustafson
  • Daniel Sackheim
  • David Ellingsen
  • Diana Cheren Nygren
  • Diane Meyer
  • Eva Gjaltema
  • Francesca Mills
  • Grace Weston
  • Jamey Stillings
  • Jaume Llorens I Bach
  • Jesse Freidin
  • Jesse Egner
  • Jo Ann Chaus
  • Kazuaki Koseki
  • Kevin Moore
  • Krista Svalbonas
  • Krysia Lukkason
  • Lauren Semivan & John Shimon
  • Leah Devun
  • Leah Schretenthaler
  • Lindsay Siu
  • Lisa Murray
  • Lou Peralta
  • Lynne Breitfeller
  • Marina Font
  • Mateo Ruiz Gonzalez
  • Michael Joseph
  • Michael Young
  • Nathan Rochefort
  • Nolan Streitberger
  • Rashod Taylor
  • Roshni Khatri
  • Ruddy Roye
  • Santiago Escobar-Jaramillo
  • Sarah Hoskins
  • Shao-Feng Hsu
  • Simone Lueck
  • Stephen Starkman (posthumous)
  • Streetmax 21
  • Tracy Barbutes
  • Walter Plotnick
  • Zoe Haynes-Smith


These artists will participate in a group exhibition in February 2024 at the Colorado Photographic Arts Center, curated by Daniel Boetker-Smith. 

Please stay tuned for our upcoming awards announcements in the next few weeks!

All my best,

Polly Gaillard, Photolucida Program Director