Critical Mass 2020 Awards!

The aim of Critical Mass is to provide participants with career-building opportunities and to promote the best emerging and mid-career artists working today. Critical Mass is about exposure, connection, and community – but we are excited to be able to offer these notable awards as well:

Michael Reichmann Project Development Grant –
Five photographers selected from the 200 Finalists will each be awarded $1000 cash to go towards the development of a current or future project.

Photolucida Reviews Event “Golden Ticket” Award –
Three photographers selected from the 200 Finalists will each be given a “Golden Ticket” to the 2021 Reviews Event in Portland with all registration fees covered.

*NEW* Fraction Feature Award –
A number of Finalists will will be selected to be featured on Fraction in a dedicated Critical Mass Issue.

Rauschenberg Residency Award
One photographer will be chosen for a four-week residency at the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation’s Captiva Island (Florida) estate.

Blue Sky Gallery Solo Show Award
One photographer will be chosen for a solo exhibition at Blue Sky Gallery during Portland Photo Month (Date TBD).

Print Collecting Initiative Award –
Each Finalist will receive their choice of one limited edition signed print by past Critical Mass award winners, Priya Kambli or Matt Eich. Print choices can be found here. This award is generously sponsored by Hahnemühle + Pro Photo Supply

Keeper of the Hearth Award –
A number of Finalists (25+) will receive a copy of Odette England’s critically acclaimed new monograph, Keeper of the Hearth (Schilt Publishing, 2020).

MFA Student Scholarships –
Photolucida is excited to once again offer our Critical Mass MFA Student Scholarship awards. We are looking for nominations from Grad Program Faculty for MFA students (or from students themselves!) whose work is ready for submission to Critical Mass 2020. This award includes waived entry fees and automatic entry into the Top 200 Finalist pool. Please contact us at info(at) for more information. Deadline for nominations: June 1st.